top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaita Ponce

November 22, 2019


Went on a cemetery tour. Quite odd that it is part of the tour. The unique way of burying the dead in New Orleans isn't exactly unique to me. This is what a Filipino cemetery looks like. The mix of Voodoo and Catholicism is also something that my home culture has. We have a plethora of superstitions from different regions of the country, Chinese culture and Spanish, it's hard to keep track.

What strikes me the most is how intimate death is with their living practices and celebrations. It's as if death is a relentless crow that flies over their shoulders. And so they live life to the fullest, with so much vibrance and colour and spice.



Stopped by for some beignets and cafe au lait. Our driver gave us a tip on how to deal with sugar getting all over the place while eating beignets: Do not breathe.

After one night of sleeping in the French Quarter, I decided to book the rest of my stay at Henry Howard Hotel located in the residential area called the Garden District. While it still has the Creole historical charm, Garden District is quite pleasant sans haunted ghosts and dark voodoo.



I had late lunch at Juan's Flying Burrito on Magazine Street. It's a mix of Creole and Mexican. So good. I had the nachos with pork and mango and pineapple and Bahn Mi tacos.










How quaint is this family-mansion-turned-hotel? I love it here. I wish I had stayed here on my first night as well. Service is impeccable. I feel so at home and the people really take care of you like family. Maggie at the front desk made sure I was okay after my haunting experience in the French Quarter. Also, I love the branding. Very Jo Malone-ish.


I took a nap and slept HARD. Felt refreshed when I woke up and went to Frenchmen Street for live jazz music


I found that street performances were much better.





The best one I've seen so far was the Young Fellaz Brass Band.




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page